Your browser version is outdated. We recommend that you update your browser to the latest version.

Translate this page

For Braille, large print or audio, please contact us.

Click here to take you straight to CEOP 



Click here to order your school uniform

Image result for tesco Direct school uniform logoImage result for tesco Direct school uniform logo

Curriculum Statement

We ensure that the children receive a broad and balanced curriculum. The children in the Foundation Stage follow a teaching programme based on the Early Learning Goals. The children in KS1 and 2 follow the National Curriculum. All children work towards North Yorkshire Agreed Syllabus for Religious Education.

Children in the Foundation Stage are taught through the six key areas of:

i. Personal, social and emotional development
ii. Communication, language and literacy
iii. Mathematical development
iv. Knowledge and understanding of the world
v. Physical development
vi. Creative development and work towards the achievement of the Early Learning Goals.







Religious Education

History, Music, Geography, Art, Physical

Education, Personal, Social Health and

Citizenship Education (PSHCE)

Key skills and thinking skills are developed

alongside all curriculum areas.


Some teaching takes place through themed work but certain parts of the curriculum such as PE, and mathematics are taught as individual subjects. The core subjects will take up a larger proportion of your child’s timetable than the Foundation subjects.

The children are also taught certain cross-curricular themes which are usually included in topic work or assemblies. These include:

i. Economic and industrial understanding
ii. Careers education
iii. Health education
iv. Environment education
i. Education for citizenship
ii. Road safety

Where possible, children will be taught through practical activities and they will learn to apply knowledge and skills to practical situations. We believe children learn best by doing things themselves whether it is dressing themselves, using scissors, working out a mathematical problem or doing a science experiment.


In key stage 1 the reading scheme we use are Letters and Sounds, Jolly Phonics and the Oxford Reading Tree.


Programmes of Study and Attainment Targets
For each subject and for each Key Stage the National Curriculum sets out Programmes of Study which detail what children should be taught and Attainment Targets which set out the expected standards of children’s performance. At the end of Key Stages 1 and 2, for all subjects except art, music and physical education, standards of children’s performance are set out in Level Descriptions of increasing difficulty.

At the end of each Key Stage (Y2 and Y6) the children are assessed both by their teachers and Standardised Tests (SATs). In years 3-5 teachers make use of optional STA tests to aid Teacher Assessment.

The standard of pupils’ work is monitored throughout the year and targets set for each individual.

For more information on the curriculum please see the long term plan pages or speak with your child's class teacher or the head teacher.

Click here to see a copy of our Calculation Policy

Cookie Policy

This site uses cookies to store information on your computer.

Do you accept?